More News

Sports Wrap: Th Yaiphaba wears U-9 Boys Single crown in State Badminton Championship

The final match of the U-9 Boys Single saw Ng Yaiphaba display his grit and determination against Th Yangba Meitei of Imphal East.

ByIFP Sports Correspondent

Updated on 4 Dec 2021, 4:19 pm

IFP Representational Image


Ng Yaiphaba Singha of JDBA smashed his way to the gold medal in the Boys Single U-9 event of the 65th State Open Badminton Championship 2021 organised by Manipur Badminton Association at Indoor Hall, DM College Campus.

The final match of the U-9 Boys Single saw Ng Yaiphaba display his grit and determination against Th Yangba Meitei of Imphal East, who was equally good in the game.

Th Yangba Meitei made good progress in the first game winning by 21-12 points. But Yaiphaba turns the tables, with his zealous effort, to claim it by 21-20 points to level 1-1 game old. But in the third and final game, Yaiphaba pulled up all his remaining energy to win by 21-17 points for the champion title while Yangba had to settle for the silver medal.

As for the U-11 Girl Single final match, Kimkim Khongsai of KDBA had a relatively easy game beating Linthoi Huirem of BDBA by 21-11 and 21-6 points for the champion title.

In the Mixed double of U-15 category, the pair of Thokchom Hursh and Kh.Senlina of Imphal West beat L.Luwangamba of Imphal East and Jianna Lairenlakpam by 2-1 sets to move into the final.

Luwangamba and Jianna faced stiff challenges from the opposite pair but gained their way to 24-22 points in the first set.

However, Hursh and Senlina wasted no time, jumping back to the game and smashed home the second set with 21-13 point and went on to claim the third set with 21-16 point, to book their final berth.

Winners' Cup schedule from December 15

The All Manipur Football Association has informed that the 25th Thangjam Birachandra-Maipakpi Memorial Winners' Cup 2021-22 will begin from December 15, 2021.

Team entry for the competition will be accepted till December 8 along with an entry fee of Rs 5000 and the Manager meeting of the Cup will be held on December 11 at 9 am at AMFA office at Mapal Kangjeibung.

In this regard, District Associations are informed to recommend their Champion team of the highest division on or before December 6. All participating teams have to confirm their Home Ground on or before December 8, 2021. It is mandatory that all participating players must be registered in CRS and the CRS Number should be filled up during registration time.

Lambung YC, Khumbung Khullen, Tampi YC win 

Lambung YC scored 3-0 goals over Khullei Hnatham in the 1st PS Ningam, Chamshel & Richard Memorial Cup 2021 organised by NCR Families along with Nungpan Youth Club at Chakpikarong Ground, Chandel.

In the other matches, Khumbung Khullen Novokom FC beat WS Lumshel MI by 4-3 goals during pealty shootout after both teams were tied with 1-1 goals during normal time play. Tampi YC also prevailed upon Hringphe YC by 8-7 goals during pealty shootout after both teams had 1-1 goals in regulation time.  

Juvenile, KAN Kadangband score victories in IWDFA 2nd Division League

Juvenile, Tera records their first win beating NISC Lairenjam by 4-1 goals in the 10th Kangjam Karnajit Singh Memorial 2nd Division Football League Tournament 2020-21 played at Pamyal Patsoi Ground, Imphal West.

Juvenile came good in the match with a leading goal from Akash in the 31 minute in the first half. Making further forays, Juvenile increased the tally with Jenish fetching the second goal in 52 minute and later Monex strucks two more goals in 62 and 68 minute. The lone goal for NISC was scored by Remainder in 70 minute of play.

In the other match, KAN Kadangband blanked SYPA Awang Sekmai by 5-0 goals. M. Kishan proved to be the hero of the day as he scored four goals while Solomon fetched one goal.

IFP Sports Correspondent

IFP Sports Correspondent

Sports Bureau, Imphal, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.