More News

Final | U-17 Girls JN Hockey Tournament: Thaimei Gaiganpou to meet UNACCO School

Sports Wrap: BSA Yumnam Leikai registers win | 22nd Commonwealth Games | Anbilish Trust FC lifts Champion title

ByIFP Sports Correspondent

Updated 30 Jul 2022, 6:00 am

(Representational Image: Unsplash)
(Representational Image: Unsplash)

Thaimei Gaiganpou English School, Bishnupur will test their strength against UNACCO School, Imphal West in the final match of the 28th Nehru Junior (U-17) Girls State Level Hockey Tournament 2022 organised by YAS Manipur played at Hockey Stadium Khuman Lampak.

The first semi final of the tournament saw Thaimei Gaiganpou face little challenge from Brilliant Academy Melaground, Thoubal and the former had a whale of time in scoring 11-0 goals for the victory. In the first quarter, Thaimei Gaiganpou scored three goals and later added six more in the second quarter and one goal each in the third and fourth quarter.

As for the second semi final, Unacco School, Imphal West overcame Young Pioneer's School, Imphal East by 3-0 goals enroute to the final.

Both teams produced great challenges in the game but Unacco School were more accurate in finding the opening goal through N Kamala from a field goal in the second quarter. Later N Diana Devi proved her worth as she converted two penalty corners to perfection to guide her team to the final. 

BSA Yumnam Leikai registers win in 6th MNCA Plate Tournament

IBSA Yumnam Leikai defeated YAC Yaiskul by 155 runs in the 6th MNCA Plate Tournament 2021-22 played at Luwangpokpa Cricket Stadium, Luwangsangbam.

The IBSA opener started off on a strong note with N. Komol hitting 44 runs while M. Sunanda made 101 runs from 102 balls, before being retired hurt to post a huge 301 runs for 7 wickets from 40 overs. Rajababu contributed 35 runs.


YAC bowler Joychandra Singh claimed 4 wickets while Guneshwor took 2 wickets.

In reply, except for Abocha Laishram who made 57 runs from 58 balls, rest of the batsmen fell cheaply to wind up their innings for 146 runs for 10 wickets from 31.4 overs. IBSA bowler Rajababu bagged 4 wickets while David got 2 wickets.

Later, IBSA batsman M Sunanda was declared the Man of the Match for his 101 runs knock.

1st MNCA U-14 Boys Cricket: MPA Thounaojam beat YWC Langthabal by 151 runs in the 1st MNCA U-14 Boys Tournament 2021-22 played at PCC Ground, Mayaikoibi.

MPA Thounaojam made 212 runs for 7 wickets from 30 overs while in reply, YWC managed 61 runs for 10 wickets from 15.5 overs.

PTRC Patsoi came up with a 140 runs victory against TCMDC Thongju II Pechu Lampak played at PTRC Patsoi Ground. PTRC made 255 runs for 4 wickets from 30 overs while TCMDC managed 115 runs for 10 wickets from 22.3 overs in their reply. 

MOA wish its sportspersons podium finish in 22nd Commonwealth Games

The Manipur Olympic Association has extended its best wishes to the seven sportspersons from the state for a medal winning performance in the 22nd Commonwealth Games, 2022, Birmingham, U.K.


The seven sportspersons in the Indian contingent are Sh.Nilakanta Sharma in Hockey, Sushila Chanu Pukrambam in Hockey, Sushila Likmabam in Judo in 48kg, S.Mirabai Chanu in Weightlifting in 49kg, S.Bindyarani Devi in Weight Lifting 55kg, Y.Rojit Singh in Cycling and L.Ronaldo Singh in Cycling.

The officials of Manipur Olympic Association prayed that success be with them for the podium finish and bring  glory and laurels for the Country and the Manipur as well, according to a press release from Sunil Elangbam, Secretary General, MOA.  

Anbilish Trust FC lifts Champion title of ADC Chandel Trophy Super Division League

Anbilish Trust FC emerged Champion of the ADC Chandel Trophy Super Division Football League 2022 organised by DSA Chandel at Liwa Sarei Football Ground, Chandel.

In the final match, Anbilish Trust FC made the most of the ground against New Wangparel YC and got the break in the 8 minute of play from D.Renghon for the lead.

The New Wangparel team despite getting chances had a hard time to control the ball at the last moment and feeling the heat, Anbilish Trust decided to make more aggressive run which fetch good dividend as CR Mongampha slides through the defence and slot home the second goal in 10 minute, to dominate the first half by 2-0 goals.

New Wangparel tried to lift up their game in the second half but Anbilish Trust, having the advantage of two goals, guarded their defence well and made occasional raids where CR Mongampha, let loose his fury, striking two goals in quick succession in 60 minute and 67 minute for the victory today.

Anbilish Trust FC player Paulin got booked with a yellow card in the match. The Champion team Anbilish Trust FC was awarded Rs 20,000 along with Trophy while New Wangparel YC had to contend with Rs 18,000 with Runners Up trophy.


First published:30 Jul 2022, 5:59 am


MNCA Plate Tournamentadc chandel trophyThaimei Gaiganpou English SchoolAnbilish Trust FC22nd Commonwealth GamesMoaBSA Yumnam Leikai

IFP Sports Correspondent

IFP Sports Correspondent

Sports Bureau, Imphal, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.