More News

Thanglenhao Touthang crowned Mr Kanggui 2023, Chinneimoi Khongsai crowned Miss Kanggui 2023

Kangpokpi Youth Union elebrated its Golden Jubilee at the Brig M Thomas ground, Kangpokpi District Headquarters.

ByKangpokpi Correspondent

Updated 13 Mar 2023, 4:53 pm


The Kangpokpi Youth Union, formerly known as the Kangpokpi Youth Club, celebrated its Golden Jubilee at the Brig M Thomas ground, Kangpokpi District Headquarters.

Outer Manipur (Lok Sabha) MP Lorho S Pfoze graced the occasion as chief guest of the noon session while Saitu MLA Haokholet Kipgen and Saikul MLA Kimneo Haokip Hangshing attended as guests of honour and local MLA Nemcha Kipgen attended as the functional president.

The event was organised by a strong 40-member under seven subcommittee headed by a three-member core committee, Seikhojam Kipgen as chairman, Lalkholen Kipgen as secretary, and Lamminthang Neihshiel as finance secretary under the theme, "Honoring the glorious past, celebrating the golden present, and envisioning the promising future". 

A 13 feet tall monolith, donated by Jangboi Kipgen to commemorate the fifty glorious years of the KYU, was jubilantly unveiled by the KYC/KYU Founding President, Haokholal Hangshing after the Outer Manipur MP Lorho S Pfoze hoisted the KYU and Golden Jubilee flag while the monolith was dedicated by Rev K Hangshing, chairman, Kangpokpi Town Churches Fellowship in the presence of all dignitaries.

The chief guest also published a souvenir of the jubilee.

KYU President Haolet Khongsai highlighted the brief history of KYC/KYU and their work during the Covid pandemic. He also said that the youths of Kangpokpi, with the power vested by the town committee in a public meeting, are tirelessly exerting all possible means to make Kangpokpi a "drug-free" town.


Golden Jubilee Celebration Core Committee Chairman, Seikhojam Kipgen, while addressing the media on the sideline, spoke on how the decision to form the union was taken in the 1060s. And many years later, in the year 1973, the Kangpokpi Youth Club was officially registered under the Registrar of Societies Manipur, (Act XXI of 1860) bearing Registration No. 1324 of 1973.

Acknowledging the immense contribution of the KYC for a better Manipur, MP Lorho S. Pfoze said that Kangpokpi is a blessed town where the youths played their roles effectively for the welfare of the town.

He encouraged the youths of Kangpokpi town to sow more seeds of love, unity, harmony, and development and most importantly sweat for its high-yielding fruits after sowing.

The Outer Manipur MP also appreciated and praised the Founding President of KYC/KYU Haokholal Hangshing for pioneering the Kangpokpi youth in promoting love, peace, and harmony.

MLA Nemcha Kipgen acknowledged the selfless service of KYU during the pandemic COVID-19 and praised the union for their selfless and fearless service in saving thousands of lives in the district.

She also vehemently encouraged the youths of Kangpokpi in helping the Government's "War on Drugs" campaign extensively success in the district. 


The night session was graced by MAHUD Minister Y Khemchand Singh as chief guest while Col Punit Atwal, SM 22 Assam Rifles and former Minister Thangminlen Kipgen, attended as guest of honour and special guest respectively.

The night session was marked by Mr & Miss Kanggui's contest and various entertainment programs.

Thanglenhao Touthang of Kangpokpi Sipinthei Veng (Ward No.7) bagged Mr Kanggui 2023 with a trophy and cash prize of Rs 70,000 while Chinneimoi Khongsai of Kangpokpi Nanglhun Veng (Ward No.15) was crowned Miss Kanggui 2023 with a prestigious tiara and cash prize of Rs70,000

In the Mr Kanggui contest, Kaigunlal Hangshing from Tintong Veng (Ward No.2) and Vishal Pradhan of the same ward bagged the first and second runner up while Kaigoulal Kipgen of Tintong Veng, Lamgunhao Kipgen of Khupting Veng, and N. Sehgunthang Daniel Misao of Lamdil veng bagged the subtitle award of Mr Physique, Mr Talented and Best Model respectively. 

In the Miss Kanggui contest, Chonghoikim Singson and Kimdeihoi Doungel, both from Vengthah Ward No.3 bagged the first and second runner up while Smirit Shrestha of Lendou Veng, Hatboineng Chongloi of Enjakhup Veng, and Hatneivah Kipgen of Ngambom veng bagged the subtitles award of Miss Perfect 10, Miss Talented, and Best Model award respectively.


First published:


kangpokpimiss kanggui 2023kangpokpi youth unionmr kanngui 2023

Kangpokpi Correspondent

Kangpokpi Correspondent

KANGPOKPI district, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...