Over 15 lakh voters in Manipur to vote today

Polling officers, EVM machines dispatched to respective polling stations

ByIFP Bureau

Updated 19 Apr 2024, 3:42 pm

Representational Image (Photo: Pixabay)
Representational Image (Photo: Pixabay)


In preparation for the first phase of the 18th Lok Sabha Election, 2024, the dispersal of polling personnel from the office of the Returning Officers (ROs) for the 1-Inner Manipur Parliamentary Constituency was successfully completed on Thursday.

The constituency is scheduled to go to polls on Friday. 

The polling teams were flagged off by the respective ROs of the four districts falling under the Inner Manipur PC.

Prior to their dispersal, the strong rooms situated at their respective District Collector (DC) Office Complexes were opened. 

This was done to facilitate the dispersal of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trails (VVPATs). 

The process took place in the presence of Assistant Returning Officers (AROs), Nodal Officers, and representatives from various political parties to ensure transparency and security. 

In the first phase, 47 assembly segments out of 60 segments will cast their vote and there will be a grand total of 1,319 polling stations catering to 9,91,574 eligible electors. 

All the 32 assembly segments of Inner Manipur PC are 1-Khundrakpam, 2-Heingang, 3-Khurai, 4-Kshetrigao, 5-Thongju, 6-Keirao, 7-Andro, 8-Lamlai, 9-Thangmeiband, 10-Uri-pok, 11-Sagolband, 12-Kei- samthong, 13-Singjamei, 14-Yaiskul, 15-Wangkhei, 16- Sekmai (SC), 17-Lamsang, 18-Konthoujam, 19-Patsoi, 20-Langthabal, 21-Naoriya Pakhanglakpa, 22-Wangoi, 23-Mayang Imphal, 24-Nambol, 25-Oinam, 26-Bishnupur, 27-Moirang, 28-Thanga, 29-Kumbi, 30-Lilong, 31-Thoubal and 32-Wangkhem will vote on April 19.

Above these, 15 assembly segments of Outer Manipur PC would be voting on the same day.

The 15 assembly segments that fall in the Outer PC are 33-Heirok, 34-Wangjing Tentha, 35-Khangabok, 36-Wabgai, 37-Kakching, 38-Hiyang-lam, 39-Sugnoo, 41-Chandel (ST), 46-Saikul (ST), 50-Kangpokpi, 51-Saitu (ST), 57-Henglep (ST), 58-Churachandpur (ST), 59-Saikot (ST) and 60-Singhat (ST).

There are 15,44,652 voters (male 7,41,849, female 8,02,557 and third gender 246) in the 47 assembly segments which will be voting on April 19.

There are a total of 2107 polling stations including 4 nos. of P-3 polling stations and 96 nos. of P-2 polling stations. It is worth mentioning that 645 polling stations will be completely managed by all women polling personnel. It is also notable that2 polling stations will be exclusively managed by all PwD polling personnel. 

In addition, 85 special polling stations have been set up for Internally Displaced Voters in Imphal East, Imphal West,  Bishnupur, Thoubal, Kakching, Churachandpur and Kangpokpi districts. A total of 18,091 Internally Displaced Voters will exercise their franchise in their respective Special Polling  Stations tomorrow. Over 8,000 polling personnel are being deployed and all polling personnel  have reached their respective polling stations. 

Arrangements for webcasting/videography have been made in 1,256 Polling Stations.

The distribution of these special stations is as follows: nine in Imphal East, five in Imphal West, 11 in Bishnupur, two each in Kakching and Churachandpur, four in Kangpokpi, and one each in Thoubal and Tengnoupal.

Furthermore, security concerns have led to the identification of certain polling stations as vulnerable or critical.

On the accessibility front, provision for Pick up/Drop facilities for PwD and aged electors are made available along with wheelchair facilities. A total of 11,582 PwD electors and 289 Centenarian voters will exercise their franchise tomorrow. Two volunteers have been engaged in each polling station for assisting voters. Voter Assistance Booths have also been set up in all polling stations. 

ASHA workers have been identified for every polling station to provide immediate health care for the voters. In addition, Anganwadi workers have been engaged to facilitate the pregnant and lactating mothers to vote with ease. First Aid kits have been provided for all polling stations.


The voters are expected to exercise their right to vote from 7 am to 4 pm in 2107 polling stations.

Altogether six candidates namely INC’s Dr Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, BJP’s Th Basanta Kumar, RPI (Athawale)’s Maheshwar Thounaojam, Independent candidates RK Somendro alias Kaiku, retired Col H Sarat and Moirangthem Totomsana Nongshaba are contesting in Inner Manipur PC.


First published:


lok sabha election 2024inner manipurls polls in manipur

IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...