LS Polls in Manipur: First phase dispersal of polling personnel completed

Polling in 2-Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency for the 18th Lok Sabha Election, 2024 will be held on April 29.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated 18 Apr 2024, 4:37 am

IFP Representational Image

The first phase (P-2) dispersal of polling personnel in connection with the 18th Lok Sabha Election, 2024 in respect of 41-Chandel Assembly Segment of 2-Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency was completed successfully on Wednesday.  

The dispersal was flagged off by the district election officer, Chandel Mayanglangbam Rajkumar from the Maha Union Government Higher Secondary School ground, Chandel.

Out of the 80 polling stations, personnel for 25 polling stations which are in the interior areas of the district are being sent-off (P-2).


It may be mentioned that the farthest polling station, i.e. New Samtal Polling station is around 188 km from the district headquarter.

The personnel for the remaining 55 polling stations will be dispersed on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the polling officials and Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) personnel dispersed to their respective destinations to the three assembly constituencies of Kangpokpi district in respect to the first phase voting for the 18th Lok Sabha Election, 2024 of the 2-Outer Manipur (ST) Parliamentary Constituency. The dispersal process will continue on Thursday.

The polling officials and CAPF personnel were dispersed for the first phase from the Brigadier M Thomas Ground at 7.30 am after receiving poll material, kits and EVM machines.


Ahead of the dispersal of the officials, the strong room was opened in presence of the district electoral officer Kangpokpi Mahesh Chaudhari, nodal officers and representatives of various political parties at 6 am at LFC hall, DC Office Complex. From the store room, EVMs were then carefully transported to the Brigadier M Thomas Ground.

At the ground, five different counters were set up which included three counters for three Assembly Constituencies namely 46-Saikul (ST), 50-Kangpokpi and 51-Saitu (ST) and two counters for Special Polling Stations. The DEO/DC inspected the entire dispersal process.

More than 600 polling officials are deployed on election duty. The district has a total number of 166 polling stations, including 24 Special Polling Stations for internally displaced persons (IDPs). There are 56 polling booths in Saikul, 42 polling booths in Kangpokpi and 68 polling booths in Saitu.


First published:


outer manipurls polls in manipurdispersal of polling personnelmanipur poll datem lok sabha election 2024

IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...