Lok Sabha Election 2024: Manipur's Tamenglong, Kamjong all set for 2nd phase polling

Polling for the Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 2 to be held from 7 am to 4 pm today.

ByTamenglong Correspondent

Updated 26 Apr 2024, 1:59 am

IFP Representational Image

All necessary arrangements have been made for Outer Lok Sabha election on Friday as polling officials for 31 polling station of 52-Tamei (ST) AC and 52 polling stations of 53- Tamenglong (ST) AC were dispersed from the multipurpose hall DC complex, mini secretariat Tamenglong district.

Altogether, 332 polling officials for 83 polling stations in the two Assembly segments i.e. 52 Tamei/Tousem (ST) and 53 Tamenglong AC (ST) were dispersed on the final day.

Polling officials for 36 female managed polling stations were also dispersed.  


Women polling personnel expressed high enthusiasm in conducting the 18th Lok Sabha Election. They also thanked the district administration Tamenglong and the election nodal officer and master trainer for training them in an easy and simple manner on handling the EVMs and VVPATs.

outer manipur lok sabha election 2024

District Election Office, Kamjong is all set for the polling in 43-Phungyar (ST) AC, the lone Assembly Constituency in the district, with the dispersal of the final batch of polling and police personnel who will be on poll duty on Friday. 

On Thursday, the final batch of 34 polling teams including 14 all-women teams (for Pink Polling Stations) left for their respective polling stations from Sacred Heart Higher Secondary School, Hundung ground, Ukhrul. Altogether 312 polling personnel, four each for every polling station, and one section of Central Armed Paramilitary Force or State Armed Police along with two unarmed police  personnel will be on duty at each polling station during the polling hours from 7 am to 4 pm on Friday.


43-Phungyar (ST) AC, which is one of the 13 ACs of the Outer Manipur PC going on poll on Friday,  has 78 polling stations including 14 Pink Polling Stations (exclusively managed by women) of which five are critical polling stations while four polling stations are identified as vulnerable. These 78 polling stations are categorised into two groups i.e. P-1 and P-2 based on time of dispersal and distance from the district headquarters.

Situated at a distance of about 200 km from Kamjong district headquarters, polling station 43/52-K. Ashang Khullen Aze located at K Ashang Ato Primary School is the farthest polling station from the district headquarters while  43/2- Koso located at Koso primary school with 41km from the HQ is the nearest polling station.

The constituency has a total number of 34,907 voters with 17,200 male and 17,707 female  voters of which 730 are first-time voters, 237 PwDs and 629 persons aged above 80 or above.

2-Outer Manipur Parliamentary Constituency, which is reserved for scheduled tribes, will witness a four-cornered contest between Naga People’s Front’s K Timothy Zimik, Congress’ Alfred Kanngam Arthur and independent candidates Kho John and Alyson Abonmai.



First published:


tamenglongkamjongouter manipurlok sabha election phase 2

Tamenglong Correspondent

Tamenglong Correspondent

TAMENGLONG district, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...