Closely monitoring campaign activities of Inner Manipur candidates: RO

Returning Officer of Inner Manipur and District election officer (IW) Th Kirankumar said that arrangements for the coming election are all set.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated 13 Apr 2024, 4:13 pm

Representational Image (Photo: Pixabay)
Representational Image (Photo: Pixabay)

Returning Officer of Inner Manipur and District election officer (IW) Th Kirankumar on Friday said that his team is closely monitoring the campaign activities of the candidates while preparations are being made to ensure smooth voting.

The DEO also said that arrangements for the coming election are all set, while briefing the media during a press meet on Friday at the Court Room of DEO, Imphal West.

Kirankumar informed that there are a total of 1319 polling stations for the Inner Manipur Lok Sabha election - 530 in Imphal West, 432 in Imphal East, 234 in Bishnupur and 123 in Thoubal. He also added that there will be 145 women manned polling stations and 13 model polling stations in Imphal West.

There will be 29 Special Polling Stations (SPS) for the Internally Displaced People (IDPs) in the Inner Manipur Constituency for the upcoming Phase-I poll of the 18th Lok Sabha General Election which will be held on April 19, 2024, the DEO further informed.

The DEO, who is also the Returning Officer, highlighted the preparations and measures taken up by the District Election Office (DEO) to ensure a smooth voting experience for the electors.


In Inner Manipur, there are a total of 9,91,574 electors, out of which 3,81,902 are from Imphal West; 9,541 Service Voters out of which 3,162 voters are from Imphal West while the absentee voters is 5,021 for which house visit will be conducted on April 14 and second last time on April 16.

The district election officer has also commenced the 2nd Round of Inspection of Expenditure Registers on April 12 and the 3rd Round of Inspection is scheduled on April 13.
He informed that the second randomisation and commissioning of EVM and VVPAT are completed and are kept concealed in a strong room.

Despite such, 100 per cent coverage by videography and webcam and CCTV will be performed, Kirankumar informed.

Kirankumar said that opinion poll and exit poll will be banned starting 48 hours before election day under section 126 of RP Act, 1951.

The campaign period ends on April 17 at 4 pm and vehicles with permits from DEO will be allowed but no voters to be carried in the permitted vehicles. All vehicles should display permits on the wind screen, he informed.

The DEO, Imphal West and SP Imphal West together sought cooperation and understanding from the public to ensure a smooth and successful polling of the inner Lok Sabha election.


They assured all that the authorities are putting up their best efforts to garner the confidence of the electors to come out freely and exercise their valuable voting rights.

Returning officer holds meeting on election

The Office of the Returning Officer for 1-Inner Manipur Parliamentary, Lamphelpat conducted a meeting at 11 am at the Court Room of Deputy Commissioner’s Office Complex, Imphal West on Friday.

The meeting was chaired by returning officer, 1-IMPC Th Kirankumar and attended by ADMs, AROs, Nodal Officers, representatives from various political parties functioning within Imphal West district and respective agents of contesting candidates.

Returning office, Lamphelpat Th Kirankumar explained the various matters related to the conduct of the ensuing 18th Lok Sabha Election 2024 – including postal ballots, EDCs, absentee voters, election at special polling stations, EVM and VVPAT management, measures taken at polling stations and other election arrangements.



First published:


lok sabha election manipurinner manipurdeo imphal west

IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...