1961 adopted as Manipur ILP base year

Apart from ILP base year, Manipur State Vision Document 2047 was also presented at the state Cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister N Biren Singh in Imphal on Wednesday.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated 23 Jun 2022, 3:49 pm

IFP Representational Image


The year 1961 has been adopted as base year for determining the ‘native’ status for implementation of Inner Line Permit (ILP) System in Manipur. The resolution was taken at the state Cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister N Biren Singh in Imphal on Wednesday. 

The Manipur State Vision Document 2047 was also presented during the state cabinet meeting. It aims to make the state a vibrant, carbon-neutral and economically, socially and ecologically sustainable state in the next 25 years. It also includes touching and ameliorating lives of people within and beyond its borders, leveraging on its unique legacy to emerge as a sparkling Jewel of India.


The Cabinet meeting also approved the publication of the Draft GIS Based Master Plan for Greater Imphal for the horizon year 2041, for inviting opinion and objections.

The Greater Imphal Plan aims to make Imphal a sustainable regional growth centre and gateway to Asia through appropriate land use and environment management.

Further, the Cabinet decided to regulate usage of land in the six valley districts of Manipur under MTCP Act and other relevant Acts. Concurrence of the State Planning Authority will be mandatory for land use.

The Cabinet also resolved to extend the applicability of existing guidelines for the Idea Category of the Manipur Startup Scheme for Special Covid Pandemic Economic Support.

The Cabinet also approved to bring 10 villages, including Phougakchao (Ikhai), Saiton, Salankonjin, Watha Lambi, Nganukon, Leitanpokpi, Heiyaikon, Saiton Awang Ngairong and Torbung (Gram Panchayat area under Kumbi Assembly Constituency) under the jurisdiction of Phougakchao (Ikhai) Police Station, Bishnupur district. 


It was approved in the Cabinet meeting to schedule the election to 27 Urban Local Bodies including Imphal Municipal Corporation around the last week of September this year.

The Cabinet also approved to extend the municipal boundary of Wangjing Lamding Municipal Council by including 17 Wards falling under 3 Gram Panchayats subject to concurrence of Rural Development and Panchayati Raj department and delimitation under relevant Act and Rules.

The State Cabinet further reaffirmed its earlier decision to include Lilong Haoreibi Muslim - Haoreibi Makha Leikai D (of erstwhile Part 1/12 and Part 11/12 of Samurou Municipal Council) in Turel Ahanbi Atoukhong Gram Panchayat, Thoubal district. To enhance the functioning of the department of ENT, Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Medical Sciences, it was resolved to create 2 posts of Assistant Professor in the said department.

To expedite the operationalisation of Churachandpur Medical College, the Cabinet approved to create various Non-teaching posts and to fill up the same. It was also decided to fill up various vacant posts of different categories available at District Hospital, Churachandpur. Further, the Cabinet approved to transfer land measuring an area of 17.954 acres at Revenue Village No. 19 – Koirengei, at Thengu Chingjin to the state Planning department for construction of Integrated Conference Complex. (DIPR)



First published:22 Jun 2022, 3:41 pm


cm birenchief minister BirenILP system in ManipurILP base yearManipur State Vision Document 2047

IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.