Guwahati-Bikaner Express train derails in West Bengal's Jalpaiguri

At least five people were killed and around 50 others injured, according to reports.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated on 14 Jan 2022, 5:07 am

(PHOTO: Twitter)

(PHOTO: Twitter)

In an unfortunate accident, 12 coaches of Bikaner-Guwahati Express train derailed near New Maynaguri in Jalpaiguri district, West Bengal on Thursday evening, leaving at least five people dead and about 50 injured.

The Guwahati bound train no 15633, which left Bikaner at 1.45 am on Wednesday got derailed near New Domohani station under Alipurduar Jn division of NF Railway, about 42 km away from New Jalpaigurl station and about 100 km away from New Alipurduar station around 4 pm on Thursday, NF Railway Chief Public Relations Officer Guneet Kaur said in a statement.

On receipt of the Information, senior railway officials along with Accident Relief Train from New
Jalpaiguri and New Alipurduar rushed towards the site and started the relief and rescue operation. General Manager of NF Railway also started by a train from Guwahati for the accident site. As per initial information, about 12 coaches derailed of which two capsized, Kaur said.

Around 1,053 passengers were onboard the train at the time of the derailment.

Stating that all efforts are being made at every possible level for the relief of the passengers, Kaur in his statement said that arrangements are being made for transhipment of stranded passengers by alternative trains. 

"A special train has already left from New Jalpaiguri at 7.5 pm to carry the stranded passengers which is expected to reach the site at 8.40 pm. Rescue operation has already completed," he stated. 

The Indian Railways has announced an ex-gratia amount of Rs 5 lakh to the kins of the deceased, Rs 1 lakh to the grievously injured and Rs 25,000 for passengers with simple injury.

At least nine trains have been diverted through alternative routes. These are 12346 Guwahati-Howrah-Saraight Exp, 12505 Kamakhya-Anand Vihar Express, 12520 Kamakhya-LTT AC Express, 15632 Guwahati-Barmer Express, 20502 New Delhi-Agartala Tejas Rajdhani Express,13173 Sealdah-Agartala Kanchanjungha Express, 15910 Lalgarh-Dibrugarh Avadh Assam Express, 12507 Trivandrum-Silchar Express, and 22450 New Delhi-Guwahati Express.

First published:13 Jan 2022, 6:13 pm


IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.