Four states in Northeast India win National Water Awards

In the Best State Category of the third National Water Awards, Uttar Pradesh was awarded First Prize, Rajasthan second and Tamil Nadu third prize.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated on 8 Jan 2022, 2:12 am

Assam, Northeast India

Assam, Northeast India

Union Minister of Jal Shakti Gajendra Singh Shekhawat announced the third National Water Awards-2020, in New Delhi on Friday.  In the Best State category, Uttar Pradesh was awarded the first prize, followed by Rajasthan and Tamil Nadu with second and third prize respectively. Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya and Mizoram in Northeast India region were also awarded National Water Awards under various categories.

As many as 57 awards were given to states, organizations and individuals in 11 different categories, the Union Jal Shakti Ministry said on Friday.

Goalpara in Assam and Siang in Arunachal Pradesh bagged the first and second prize respectively for the Best District in Northeast Zone.

Sialsir, Sirchip in Mizoram, Aminda Simsanggre , West Garo Hills in Meghalaya and Chambagre, also in West Garo Hills, Meghalaya won the first, second and third prizes respectively for Best Village Panchayat in Northeast Zone

Speaking on the occasion, Shekhawat stated that India’s current water requirement is estimated to be around 1,100 billion cubic meters per year, projected to go up to 1,447 billion cubic meters by 2050.

“While India has more than 18 per cent of the world’s population, it has only four per cent of the world’s renewable water resources. It is in this backdrop that the National Water Awards (NWA) were instituted to recognize and encourage exemplary work and efforts made by states, districts, individuals, organizations, etc across the country in attaining the government’s vision of a ‘Jal Samridh Bharat’,” he said.

The first National Water Award was launched by the Jal Shakti Ministry in 2018.

“National Water Awards have provided a good opportunity to start-ups as well as leading organizations to engage and deliberate with senior policymakers on how to adopt the best water resources management practices in India,” the Union Jal Shakti Ministry stated.

The ministry stated that to encourage and recognize individuals and organizations doing exemplary work in the field of water resources management, the Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Ministry of Jal Shakti is giving

The various award categories include - Best State, Best District, Best Village Panchayat, Best Urban Local Body, Best Media (Print & Electronic), Best School, Best Institution/RWA/Religious organization for Campus usage, Best Industry, Best NGO, Best Water User Association, and Best Industry for CSR Activity. Some of these categories have sub- categories for different zones of the country.

The award winners in different categories will be given a citation, trophy and cash prize, the ministry added.

First published:7 Jan 2022, 10:15 am


IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.