Manipur Bypoll Results: BJP leads in three ACs

Independent candidate Md Nasir trailing behind Antas Khan in Lilong

ByIFP Bureau

Updated 10 Nov 2020, 3:17 pm

IFP Representational Image

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Oinam Lukhoi Singh and Independent candidate Md Antas Khan were on Tuesday declared winners of Wangoi and Lilong Assembly constituencies respectively. The two constituencies along with two others went to by-elections on November 7 and the counting of votes was conducted Tuesday.

Meanwhile, the BJP is leading in Wangjing AC of Thoubal district and Saitu AC of Kangpokpi district.


In 22-Wangoi AC of Imphal West district, BJP candidate Oinam Lukhoi Singh won a total of 10960 votes, 257 more votes against Kh Loken Singh of the National People’s Party (NPP) who managed a close run with 10703 votes.



Independent candidate Y Antas Khan won the 30-Lilong constituency by-elections with 14,541 votes, defeating Md Abdul Nasir, another independent candidate who won 11,761 votes. Congress candidate Md Azizul Haque Khan was left behind with just 1,922 votes in the first round itself


BJP's Paonam Brojen Singh continued to lead with 14822 votes, followed by INC candidate Moirangthem Hemanta with 12,950 votes in the third round.


In 51-Saitu AC of Kangpokpi district, BJP was leading by 2799 votes as its candidate Ngamthang Haokip got 6998 votes against INC candidate Lamtinthang Haokip's 4199 cumulative votes

On Monday, the Manipur Pradesh Youth Congress Committee organised a rally at Kangpokpi HQ, demanding re-poll at Saitu assembly constituency, alleging the supporters of Saitu INC candidate Lamtinthang Haokip was prevented from voting on November 7.



Wangoi Bypoll Results: BJP candidate Oinam Lukhoi Singh clinches win against Kh Loken Singh

Manipur Bypoll Results: BJP candidate Ngamthang Haokip leads in Saitu

Manipur Bypoll Results: BJP candidate O Lukhoi leads in Wangoi

Lilong Bypoll Results: Independent candidate Y Antas Khan defeats Abdul Nasir



First published:10 Nov 2020, 8:08 am



IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to onlineifp@gmail.com and we’ll do our best to address it.