Manipur High Court hearing on seven defected Manipur Congress MLAs on June 5
The court also gave a chance to file any objection from respondent’s side on June 4.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated on 3 Jun 2020, 6:59 pm

Manipur High Court (PHOTO: IFP)

Manipur High Court (PHOTO: IFP)

The Manipur High Court Justice Kh Nobin single bench on Wednesday fixed June 5 for hearing of miscellaneous writ petition filed against seven defected Congress MLAs in the state.

The court, after the hearing of the submission of the counsels of petitioners, listed the matter on June 5 for disposal so that the counsels of respondents will have the opportunity to go through the petitions. The court also gave a chance to file any objection from respondent’s side on June 4.

The petitions were filed by MLA K Meghanchandra against MLA Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu assembly constituency; MLA O Henry against MLA Paonam Brojen of Wangjing Tentha assembly constituency; MLA DD Thaisi against MLA Y Surchandra of Kakching assembly constituency; MLA Joykishan against MLA Sanasam Bira of Kumbi assembly constituency; MLA O Surjakanta against MLA O Lukhoi of Wangoi assembly constituency and MLA K Ranjit against MLA Ginsuanhau of Singhat assembly constituency.

The Congress MLAs filed the petitions in the High Court to restrain the seven defected MLAs from entering the Manipur Legislative Assembly premises for the Rajya Sabha elections during the pendency of petition and disqualification case pending before the Speaker Tribunal.

Meanwhile, the Speaker’s Tribunal has fixed for pronouncement of order for preliminary objection of disqualification cases on June 6.

IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.