12 NPF executive members from Chandel AC join BJP
The relationship between BJP and NPF is still good and there will be no grudges between the two parties, Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh said.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated on 2 Nov 2021, 8:44 pm




Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh felicitated 12 executive members of NPF from Chandel assembly constituency for joining BJP on Tuesday.

Speaking to the media persons during a reception programme of the NPF members at CM’s Secretariat, Biren said that NPF is an alliance with the BJP government. The relationship between BJP and NPF is still good and there will be no grudges between the two parties.

The reason for joining BJP by NPF executive members is mainly due to the sound leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and changes brought by the party in the state and country, he added.

He continued that many more politicians from other assembly constituencies have approached to join BJP, and the matter of their joining will be discussed and finalised with the BJP leaders in the Centre by November.  

Appealing not to carry out any kind of scuffle between intending candidates seeking BJP tickets, Biren said that tickets will be provided by the parliamentary board of the party after assessing the potential of the candidates based on dedication made by them at ground level. BJP will always choose the candidate who can practically follow the ideology of ‘Nation First, Party Next, and Self Last’.

As such, instead of fighting for the tickets, the intending candidates should rather focus on doing work at ground level, Biren advised.

He also mentioned that if the sitting MLAs from BJP fail to hold their supporters, there is no guarantee that they will get the tickets.

When asked on the number of BJP candidates who would win in forthcoming election, the CM confidently responded that at least 15 seats will be won by BJP in hill areas and more than 30 seats in valley areas.

The NPF executive members who joined BJP on Tuesday are former MLA candidate, Ts Warngam; former ADC member candidates, Ts Molarshing, Sk Shemy and D Anthony; Farmer Wing Chandel Division Unit former vice-president, Th Angthung; Chandel AC Area Unit former working president, Asem Kom; Chandel AC Area Unit former vice-president, Sn Semler; Chandel Divisional Unit former secretary, Hopson Saka; Youth Wing Chandel Divisional Unit former vice-president, KC Anthony; Chandel Area Unit former advisor, Hb Lawrence; Youth Wing Chandel Area Unit former vice-president, SK Lovingson; and Youth Wing Chandel Area Unit former general secretary, Thungamdem Poel.

It may be mentioned that Ts Warngam was an active executive member of NPF. However, he had contested the last 2017 Manipur Legislative Assembly election as an independent candidate as he did not get an NPF ticket.

First published:2 Nov 2021, 8:44 pm


IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to onlineifp@gmail.com and we’ll do our best to address it.