More News

XIX Hill Districts Badminton Championships 2021 concludes

The overall team championship for HDBAM 2021 edition went in favor of Senapati District Badminton Association (SDBA) fetching the highest point of the championship.

ByChandel Correspondent

Updated on 27 Nov 2021, 6:49 pm

IFP Representational Image


The XIX Hill Districts Badminton Championships, 2021 hosted by All Chandel District Badminton Association (ACDBA) concluded on Friday, at Indoor Stadium, Japhou Bazar, Chandel.
The closing ceremony was attended by LM Khaute, IPS DGP, Manipur as chief guest, Bijoy Koijam, vice president, Badminton Association of India (BAI) as function president, L Deben Singh, MPS, SP Chandel and commandant 8th MR, S Somorjit Singh, MPS as guests of honour and N Shyamkumar, honarary secretary, Manipur Badminton Association as special guest respectively. Mayanglambam Rajkumar, deputy commissioner, Chandel who is also chairman of the organising committee attended the event as chief host.
Speaking during the occasion LM Khaute highlighted that there is no dearth of talent in Manipur. “Sports is our pride and unity. Unity through sports is achievable”, he said.

Lauding the ACDBA for organising the event successfully, Khaute expressed his gratitude to all the hill district badminton associations for extending their support and cooperation.

In the Men's open category single final match, Andrew Lotzem (Kangpokpi District Badminton Association) beat T Thangbiaklal (Churachandpur District Badminton Association) 21-9, 21-7. In the Women's open category single, Ngaivenkim (Churachandpur District Badminton Association) beat Gracy Chonglalmawi (CDBA). Ricky of TDBA and N Hohoi (KDBA) were the winners in the under 11 years boys/girls single category. In the men's veteran single above 65 years, Kala Kale (Senapati District Badminton Association) beat RS Abel (SDBA). In the women's veteran double category above 40 years Joycee and Lhingboi (CDBA) were the winners. Two senior-most participants aged 72 years old Tungzalian (Churachandpur District Badminton Association) and Wunganing (Ukhrul District Badminton Association) were acknowledged and token of gratitude was shown.

The overall team championship for HDBAM 2021 edition went in favor of Senapati District Badminton Association (SDBA) fetching the highest point of the championship. It was followed by Kangpokpi District Badminton Association (KDBA) in 2nd position, while Churachandpur District Badminton Association (CDBA) and All Chandel District Badminton Association (ACDBA) claimed the 3rd and 4th position respectively. Altogether 315 players and delegates from nine federating hill districts badminton associations participated in the XIX edition of Hill Districts Badminton Association Manipur (HDBAM).


Chandel Correspondent

Chandel Correspondent

Chandel district, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.