More News

Sports Wrap: UBFC Ukhrul thrash MCK Bishnupur by 3-1 goals in Winners' Cup

The 25th Thangjam Birachandra-Maipakpi Memorial Winners' Cup 2021-22 was played at the latter's home ground at Mini Stadium, Bishnupur.

ByIFP Sports Correspondent

Updated on 27 Dec 2021, 5:14 pm

(Representational Image: Unsplash)

(Representational Image: Unsplash)


UBFC Ukhrul beat MCK Bishnupur by 3-1 goals in the 25th Thangjam Birachandra-Maipakpi Memorial Winners' Cup 2021-22 played at the latter's home ground at Mini Stadium, Bishnupur.

The match proved to be a hotly contested game with the touring team UBFC hitting the target in the 2 minute of play from Khangandam to take the lead. But losing no time, MCK Bishnupur fought back with Th.Lemba fetching the equalizer in 8 minute to minimize the scoreline.

The UBFC Ukhrul team, knowing the advantages of winning in its opponent turf, makes further attempts to the goal and they get rewarded in 33 minute when Khangathar consolidates to enjoy the first half with 2-1 goals.

The tempo of the game rises up in the second half but off to no anvil as both team wasted ample opportunities but UBFC had the last laugh when Khangandam slips out of a goalmouth melee to push home the third goal in the added time of 90 plus 4 minute to romp home with the victory.

UBFC players YR Ninglumsang, Ngachanso Siro and MCK player H.Samananda got booked with yellow cards for dangerous play from referee T.Ranjit Singh.

The same team will meet again on December 29 at Artificial Turf, Lamlong Thongkhong which will serve as home ground for UBFC Ukhrul, to determine the semi finalist. 

Eleven strength lifters leave Imphal for the National Championship

The Manipur Strength Lifting Association has selected 11 players to represent Manipur in the 31st Sub-Junior, Junior and Senior National Strength Lifting  and Incline Championship 2021-22 to be held at Alwar, Rajasthan from December 30 to January 2, 2022. The players in the Sub-Junior Boys are S. Nilakanta, Malemnganba Nongthombam, Shyamchoron Nongthombam while in the Junior Boys category are Gonango Nongthombam, N. Nungsengba and in the Senior category is M Umakanta. Olivia Huidrom is the lone girls player in the Sub-Junior category while in the Senior women category are L Charishma, K Mangaleima Devi, N Sweety and Ph Naocha Devi. The team will be led by Kh Ningthem Singh as Coach cum Manager and has left Imphal today for the Championship venue.

Thoubal 3rd Division League

BYFY Bishnunaha beat KFC Kiyam Siphai by 3-1 goals in the DFA Thoubal 3rd Division Football League 2021 played at Khetri Leikai Ground, Thoubal. For the BYFY team, M. Jemson struck twice while T. Likson scored a goal. The lone goal for KFC was fetched by Kh. Suranjoy. In the other match, Yairipok FC got the better of PSWAS Sangaiyumpham by 4-3 goals with Denny scoring two goals while Abinash, Sanathoi got one goal each for Yairipok team. For PSWAS team, Kamal Hashan, Anash Khan and Md.Nazir scored a goal each.

JS Wartha Memorial Soccer

Jericho FC scored over Jordon FC by 4-2 goals in the 1st JS Wartha Memorial Soccer Tournament Five Men A Side organized by Panchai Sporting and Cultural Club at Chandel. Khamnung, WI Thumwarhring, Thumkhuling and Beningtha scored for Jericho FC while Zamsonlal struck both the goals for Jordon FC. In the other matches, Sodom & Gomora FC blanked Gathasmane FC by 2-0 goals with ST.Hmantha and Artun fetching the winning goal. Bethlehem FC drubbed Canaan FC by 6-1 goals to collect a full point. Uninov scored a hattrick goal while Hringsailen scored two goals, Punshi fetched one goal for Bethlehem FC. Koradun managed to find a goal for the Canaan FC team.

IFP Sports Correspondent

IFP Sports Correspondent

Sports Bureau, Imphal, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.