More News

Sports Wrap: Bethlehem FC lift Champion title of 1st JS Wartha Memorial Soccer Tournament

Bethlehem FC beat Jericho FC by 4-3 goals 1st (L) JS Wartha Memorial Five A Side Soccer Tournament 2021

ByIFP Sports Correspondent

Updated on 31 Dec 2021, 1:48 pm

Representational Image (Photo: Pixabay)

Representational Image (Photo: Pixabay)

Bethlehem FC lifted the champion title beating Jericho FC by 4-3 goals in the 1st (L) JS Wartha Memorial Five A Side Soccer Tournament 2021 organised by Panchai Sporting and Cultural Club at Chandel.

Jericho FC impressed the crowd with its nitty gritty run in the first few minutes of the game and managed to get the lead with Beningtha scoring the opening goal in 5 minute of play. However, not to be left behind, Bethlehem FC put up a great challenge and got the equaliser from Uninov in the 13 minute of the game.

Jericho FC continued their onslaught and made some dazzling effect with Thumwarhring shaking the net in 22 minute and later Beningtha struck again in 24 minute to have a larger say in the match.

Bethlehem FC, who was lagging behind by two goals, managed to trim down the scoreline when Warngam got the second goal in 24 minute of the first half. But the second half proved more fruitful for Bethlehem team as Warngam struck his second goal in the 41 minute to level 3-3 goals. With competition hots up for the teams, it was Punshi who came up with the winning goal for Bethlehem FC in the 47 minute for the sweet victory.

The third place of the meet was bagged by Sodom and Gomorrah FC who beat Israel FC by 4-0 goals.

Formation of Bishnupur Swimming Association

The District Sports Association, Bishnupur has informed sports lovers and swimmers of the district that a meeting will be held on January 8 at 1.30 pm at its office regarding the formation of Bishnupur District Swimming Association.  

Pathap FC wins in Thoubal League

Pathap FC, Lilong blanked Thoubal FC by 2-0 goals in the DFA Thoubal 3rd Division Football League 2021 played at Thoubal Khetri Leikai.

Habib and Jajo Prashan scored the winning goal for Pathap FC team. Three Thoubal FC players Langamba, Gaffar, Bisho got yellow cards in the match.

In the other match, KRC Khetrileikai and AKSDO Khangabok had a goalless draw to share a point each. Athouba of the KRC team got a yellow card in the match.

SAI STC selects 70 new inmates in seven dDisciplines

The Sports Authority of India, STC Khuman Lampak has released the names of seventy sportspersons who had been selected for induction into SAI STC in seven disciplines for the season 2022-23.

Among the seventy sportspersons, sixteen players are to be inducted in Boxing, eight in Gymnastic, six in Karate, four in Sepak Takraw, thirteen in Wrestling, ten in Wushu and thirteen in Swimming disciplines.

All selected sports persons are to report at the SAI STC Centre at Khuman Lampak from January 3-17, 2022 during office hours.  

MCA selects 20 cricketers for Vijay Merchant Trophy 2021-22

The Manipur Cricket Association has selected twenty players and six support staff to represent Manipur in Vijay Merchant Trophy 2021-22 to be held at Agartala, Tripura from January 9, 2022.

The twenty players are P Rohitkumar Khuman, who will lead as Captain, Max Warokpam Meitei, Palungbam Manas Bose, Albert Sorokhibam(Vice Captain), A Ronald Sharma, Boocker Kangujam, Zamir Khan, Ch Stephin Meitei, Kh Prakash, M Lucky Meitei, N Rahulkumar, Reolin Oinam, S Robinson, S Dailish, Tamarland Pheiroijam, Menson Nongmaithem, Ch Nongdamba Meitei, Suraj Meisnam, Ksh Rishi Singh and Noarem Lann Singh.

The six support staff are N Lokeshor Singh, Ph Rohindro Singh as Coaches, Pinky Maibam, Sh Bhabananda Sharma as Physios, T Bikenson as Trainer and Irengbam Ibobi Singh as Manager.

MU names 12 Shooters for Faridabad Tournament

The Department of Sports, Manipur University has selected twelve shooters to represent MU in the All India Inter University Shooting(M&W) Tournament 2021-22 to be held at Manav Rachna International University, Faridabad during the month of February/March, 2022.

The Men's shooters in the MU List are Frvind Irungbam, Th Telheiba, Rk Memik, Kunyson T, M Indrakumar, Nganba Thounaojam while in the Women's list are Ksh Nisha, Persomi, W Kabita, P Sophiya, Dunee Khaidem and N Somika. In the Men's reserve list is Lanchenba N.

IFP Sports Correspondent

IFP Sports Correspondent

Sports Bureau, Imphal, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.