Meghalaya Congress leaders resign from party membership

After 30 years, the Meghalaya Congress working president and the former general secretary resigned from the party on Wednesday.


Updated on 2 Dec 2021, 5:04 am

(Representational Image: Unsplash)

(Representational Image: Unsplash)

In yet another blow to the Congress party in Meghalaya, its working president and the former general secretary resigned from the party on Wednesday.

James Lyngdoh, working president of the Meghalaya Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC), submitted his resignation letter to All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary KC Venugopal while former MPCC general secretary Dr Manas Das Gupta to the MPCC chief Vincent H Pala.

Both served the Congress paty for over 30 years.

The decision taken by the two leaders also came after the recent mass exodus of 12 MLAs led by former chief minister Dr Mukul Sangma to the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC).

Lyngdoh said, "I am tendering my resignation from the post of working president, MPCC, AICC member and as primary member of the Indian National Congress… I am thankful to the INC for the responsibilities and opportunities provided to me to serve the people of the state of Meghalaya.”

In his letter, Gupta informed that he has resigned as chairman, Labour Department, MPCC and chairman, Vichar Vibhag, MPCC with immediate effect.

“I also hereby resign from primary membership of Indian National Congress, with immediate effect, after having served the party for 36 years and also having served as general secretary MPCC for 14 years, till the recent reshuffle of MPCC,” he stated.



Newmai News Network, Shillong, Meghalaya

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.