‘Manipur’ chant echoes as Bimol Akoijam, Alfred Kanngam Arthur take oaths in Lok Sabha

The two MPs of Manipur, both elected as Indian National Congress representatives, took their oaths as new Lok Sabha Members of Parliament on Tuesday.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated 26 Jun 2024, 5:21 pm

IFP Representational Image

“Manipur... Manipur… Justice for Manipur” echoed on the Parliamentary floor while two MPs of Manipur, both elected as Indian National Congress representatives, took their oaths as new Lok Sabha Members of Parliament.

Former associate professor, Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, elected in the Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency, defeated his nearest rival BJP candidate Th Basantakumar, who is also the education minister in the Biren-led government.


Akoijam took the oath in Manipuri, holding the Indian Constitution in his right hand, which was handed to him by Indian National Congress leader Rahul Gandhi.

Akoijam took the oath in the name of ‘Shidaba Mapu’ (Supreme God in Manipuri), pledging to respect the constitution of India and to discharge his duty sincerely to protect the nation.

Akoijam ended with “Jai Hind, Ema Leibak Na Yaiphare, Manipur Ema Na Yaiphare.”

Alfred Kanngam Arthur, elected from the outer Manipur parliamentary seat by defeating his nearest rival, Naga Peoples’ Front candidate Kachui Timothy Zimik, with a huge margin, took his oath in English. He swore to uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India and to faithfully discharge his duties.


Arthur ended with a slogan in Hindi, “Manipur Meh Nyay Dilayeye, Desh Bachayeye” (Deliver justice for Manipur, save the country). He took the oath with a traditional ‘Tangkhul’ shawl on his shoulder.

Despite having a double-engine government, the BJP candidate was defeated in the inner Manipur parliamentary seat by over 1 lakh votes. No BJP candidate contested in the outer seat, but the national party supported the regional political party Naga People’s Front (NPF).

After the defeat of the NPF candidate in outer Manipur, the United Naga Council (UNC), an apex Naga body of Manipur, barred INC elected outer MP of Manipur Alfred Kanngam Arthur and two other candidates, S Kho John and Allyson Abonmai, from public platforms for seven years. The UNC also barred these three from holding any position in the Naga society for the same period.


First published:


manipurAlfred Kanngam Arthurbimol akoijam

IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur


Top Stories

Loading data...

IFP Exclusive

Loading data...