More News

Shaheed Manoranjan memorial football tournament concludes

Altogether 28 top teams of Manipur took part in the tournament this year, making it one of the most sought after tournaments in the state.

ByIFP Bureau

Updated on 28 Feb 2021, 5:36 pm



The 11th Shaheed Manoranjan Singh Memorial Football Tournament 2020-21 concluded at SAI Sports Complex, Takyel, Imphal West on Sunday after 17 days of exciting and entertaining performance.

The tournament was kicked off by deputy Chief Minister of Manipur Yumnam Joykumar Singh on February 6. Altogether 28 top teams of Manipur took part in the tournament this year, making it one of the most sought after tournaments in the state.

Sports Minister Letpao Haokip attended the occasion as chief guest.  PMG, IGP M&N Sector CRPF Randeep Datta gave the welcome speech and gave an insight of the bravery of Late assistant commandant Ng Manoranjan Singh.

Sport minister Letpao Haokip offered tributes to the late officer and presented a shawl and a poem written by Satyender to the mother of late Manoranjan Ng Memcha.

The chief guest also presented scholarships to meritorious students of Yurembam Leikai in memory of Shaheed Manoranjan Singh. The chief guest praised the CRPF for organising this tournament in the memory of the martyr.

He also urged the local youth to come forward and become responsible citizens. A Musical concert was also performed by Ameya Dabli and his Ekam Satt Team during the ceremony. The vote of thanks was given by DIG Range Imphal Ravindra Kumar Rautela who thanked everyone including the sponsors for supporting CRPF in organising the tournament. 

The closing ceremony was attended by mother of Shaheed Manoranjan Singh Ng Memcha and senior officers of State Administration, Army, Police & CAPFs, other dignitaries, media persons, youth and children of local area.

The final match of the tournament was played between SSU, Singjamei, Imphal West & ESU, Wangkhei, Imphal East at 01:45 pm wherein SSU clinched the winner trophy by defeating ESU by 3:2 goals.

The winning team SSU, Singjamei was rewarded prize money of Rs 2,50,000 along with trophy and medals. The Runners up team ESU, Wangkhei was awarded with prize money of Rs 1,50,000 along with trophy and Medals. The 3rd place team Classic Football Academy, Imphal East was awarded with prize money of Rs 35,000 along with medals and 4th place team WAFA, Wangoi, Imphal West was awarded with prize money of Rs 15,000

A prize money of Rs 10,000 each along with trophies was rewarded to the man of the match H Shital Singh (J/No 10) of SSU, Best player Peter Seiminthang Haokip (J/No 10) of WAFA, Best goalkeeper H Chingkheihunba (J/No 22) of ESU and the highest Goal Scorer Peter Seiminthang Haokip (J/No 10) of WAFA.

First published:28 Feb 2021, 5:36 pm


IFP Bureau

IFP Bureau

IMPHAL, Manipur

Top Stories

Loading data...


Loading data...


Have a complaint, a suggestion or just some feedback about our content? Please write to and we’ll do our best to address it.